Answer the following questions briefly.

(i) Name the group of islands lying in the Arabian Sea.

(ii) Name the countries which are larger than India.

(iii) Which island group of India lies to its south-east?

(iv) Which island countries are our southern neighbours?

Asked by Shivani Kumari | 1 year ago |  279

1 Answer

Solution :-

(i): India lies in the Northern hemisphere with the mainland extending between latitudes 8°4'N and 37°6'N and longitudes 68°7'E and 97°25'E. The Tropic of Cancer (23° 30'N) divides the country into almost two equal parts where the Lakshadweep islands lie in the Arabian Sea to the southwest of the mainland and the Andaman and Nicobar islands lie in the Bay of Bengal to the southeast of the mainland. Answer 2

(ii): The countries which are larger than India are Russia, Canada, U.S.A, China, Brazil, and Australia. Russia is the largest amongst all with an area of 17.09 million sq. km while India has an area of 3.28 million

(iii): The Andaman and Nicobar islands lie to the southeast of India in the Bay Of Bengal. India has a land boundary of about 15,200 km with a total length of coastline including the islands of the Andaman and Nicobar and the Lakshadweep, which is 7,516.6 km.

(iv): The island countries that are our southern neighbours are Sri Lanka and the Maldives. Maldives Islands are situated to the south of the Lakshadweep Islands while Sri Lanka is separated from India by a narrow channel of sea formed by the Palk Strait and the Gulf of Mannar.

Answered by Vishal kumar | 1 year ago

Related Questions

The central location of India at the head of the Indian Ocean is considered of great significance. Why?

Class 9 Social Science India Size and Location View Answer

The sun rises two hours earlier in Arunachal Pradesh as compared to Gujarat in the west, but the watches show the same time. How does this happen?

Class 9 Social Science India Size and Location View Answer

Choose the right answer from the four alternatives given below.

(i) The Tropic of Cancer does not pass through

(a) Rajasthan

(b) Odisha

(c) Chhattisgarh

(d) Tripura

(ii) The easternmost longitude of India is

(a) 97° 25' E

(b) 68° 7' E

(c) 77° 6' E

(d) 82° 32' E

(iii) Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, West Bengal and Sikkim have common frontiers with

(a) China

(b) Bhutan

(c) Nepal

(d) Myanmar

(iv) If you intend to visit Kavaratti during your summer vacations, which one of the following Union Territories of India you will be going to

(a) Puducherry

(b) Lakshadweep

(c) Andaman and Nicobar

(d) Daman and Diu

(v) My friend hails from a country which does not share land boundary with India. Identify the country.

(a) Bhutan

(b) Tajikistan

(c) Bangladesh

(d) Nepal

Class 9 Social Science India Size and Location View Answer